Rituals

Rituals

Saturday market day and morning run

Sunday morning run, exploratory strolls, and do it yourself pedicures

Monday yoga

Tuesday morning run

Wednesday P90x

Thursday morning run

Friday P90x

I am slowly creating rituals and routines for my life here in Beilun, China. Every year that I teach abroad I recognize more and more the importance of creating routines that ground me and root me where I am. It is necessary to feel at home, be a part of my neighborhood and create places where I am a regular. It makes me feel less of a visitor and more of a resident. So I have my market lady in place, my morning runs that take me through familiar territory (I still have to work up the courage to join a Tai Chi group), and Monday yoga at home to help me feel better about Mondays. I finally know how to order an iced coffee in Chinese so I’ll have a local coffee spot. There are a few more tweaks before I feel more at home but it’s only going on week 3 so I’m being gentle with myself. Slow and steady entry.

 

Leave a Reply

