Tuesday – It’s only day 2 and I’m tired

Tuesday – It’s only day 2 and I’m tired

It’s only Tuesday and I’m already tired. Wow!

Every day that I go home after a day in the classroom I reminded of a moment with my sister. My sister has been teaching for over 25 years. I recall a day, walking into her home and her sitting at the dining room table. As she sat there she expressed how tired she was as she summoned one of her grandchildren to get her bag off the shelf for her. I remember distinctly asking, not without sarcasm, why was she tired, she was “just a teacher”. How tired could she really be? So tired that she couldn’t get up to get a bag that was less than 5 feet away from her? I had no understanding.

And then I started teaching.

Yes, she was so tired that she couldn’t even get out of her seat. I marvel at teachers who have the energy at the end of the day to hang bulletin boards, grade papers, talk to parents and all the rest. I’m done. Catch me at 7:30am when I’m fresh. For now, I’ll be sitting here cause I’m “just a teacher” and I’m just that tired.

4 thoughts on “Tuesday – It’s only day 2 and I’m tired

  1. I am worn out at the end of the day, too! When I was newly married, I had to explain to my husband that teaching is like being on a stage for eight solid hours. We are “on”, even through lunch. It takes everything out of me, especially since I’m an introvert at heart!

    Like

  2. YEP!
    There’s the physical tired from the work of the day and then there’s also the mental tired from planning and trying to squeeze in “just one more thing” before eating, sleeping, or breakfasting. I’m a morning person. One more thing at night can totally be TOO MUCH! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

