Teacher conferences, blogs, twitter chats, and tons of children’s books – a freeflow blog entry

Teacher conferences, blogs, twitter chats, and tons of children’s books – a freeflow blog entry

Wow, there is so much out there for teachers.

I recently quit my job knowing that being a classroom teacher was no longer serving my spirit. I accepted a position as a literacy coach at an international school in Shanghai. I am nervous.

Years ago, when I first started teaching I considered getting a second master’s in children’s literature. I fell in love with children’s books. Picture books, young adult books, science fiction stories, silly stories, and all. I amassed boxes and boxes of children’s books. I went to NYC’s free book giveaway every summer and I always had a book in hand. I loved read alouds and working with guided reading groups.

The writing portion of literacy was a little more difficult but I tried. I ordered stacks of chart paper. Wrote out whole class paragraphs and stories. I conferenced and kept records. And then somewhere along the way I lost my passion for it all. I didn’t go the extra mile. And I stopped reading all those great children’s stories.

I think about them still. My sister probably wants me to come and get the boxes of books that I still have in storage at her house. I can’t give them up. I’ve tried to donate them to schools and libraries but people just don’t want them anymore so instead I keep them tucked away.

Now I return to it all. The books. The charts. The reading and writing of it. Not just that though, it’s working with students in a different way. A new way that I’ve never done before. I am nervous and excited too. I get to read children’s books again. I get to talk about literacy. I get to hear teacher’s talk about literacy. I get to work with teachers so that students are able to achieve more and more each day on their path towards becoming better readers and writers.

So I’m taking the time to find as much as I can while also on a budget. There is so much out there. Writing conferences, reading conferences, teacher blogs, twitter chats, and endless technology.  What in the world have I been doing with my professional life? I’ve missed out on so much. Teachers are out here doing more than just reading from books. While I’ve been losing my passion, the world of education has been changing.

Where do I start?

2 thoughts on “Teacher conferences, blogs, twitter chats, and tons of children’s books – a freeflow blog entry

  1. When I left the classrooms and became a librarian I felt the same way, I had missing out on so much. I love the library and the library community. It’s renewed my passion. I hope these changes renew your passion too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

