Restless

Restless

“I’m restless. Things are calling me away. My hair is being pulled by the stars again.” – Anais Nin

I woke this morning wanting to run, needing to run, or stretch, or kick, or lift something heavy.

I did nothing.

I am restless. I want to move yet feel paralyzed to begin.

I do nothing.

The voices in my head tell me that I am not a tree. I can move.

They tell me to stay positive. Each day is brand new. Each day is a blessing.

And I still, I do nothing but..

the same thing. Wake up, lay here, read, write, wash my face, brush my teeth, get dressed, pack my bag, grab some fruit, walk to work, work, eat, work, walk back from work, lay here, read, write, and repeat again tomorrow.

I am restless.

But I am paralyzed.

2 thoughts on “Restless

  1. Your writing is so wonderful. Loved the last line “I am restless./But I am paralyzed.” I’ve felt like that a lot lately.

    This isn’t very comforting, I’m sure, but walking to work is a pretty active thing to do. My work is 12 miles from my house through a bunch of cotton fields, so that’s not really an option here.
    Another tiny bit of positivity for you, the first step is the hardest. But once you take that first step, you are already on your way!

    Like

Leave a Reply

