Now what?

Now what?

April 1 to April 30 I participated in the Slice of Life Writing Challenge created by Two Writing Teachers bloggers. You can find them here if interested: https://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com/

I started it as a way of keeping me accountable for something every day for 30 days. There are prizes to be won but I just wanted to committ myself to doing one thing every single day. I also wanted to write every day,something besides my journal which I had stopped writing in once I moved here to Antofagasta. So I committed to writing one thing every day, some of the entries were decent I think, some were clearly lazy and a few days I think I found some real inspiration. I mean,hey, I wrote poetry for goodness sake and I’m not a fan of the genre. Most of all it kept me semi sane. Every day I knew I had this one thing to do and I had somewhere to post that I had completed it and at least one different person a day would read what I wrote. So it was good. Now it’s over.

So now what? What do I do for the next 30 days? I’ve come to the conclusion that my time here will be spent in 30 day increments. Probably less but I’m staying positive so 30 days it is. I thought, maybe a reading challenge, an art challenge, a photography challenge (I have no camera so that’s dead in the water. I have no phone either so nope.), a fitness challenge?

The other thing that I found here in Antofagasta is Crossfit. I’ve wanted to take it for months but it’s always been too expensive. But here it’s only 3000 pesos, that’s about $5 per class.  For a good two weeks I went on Mondays, Wednesdays and even Fridays. And then I got sick, throw-up-pins-in-my-stomach-coming-out-both-ends sick, so I stopped. And I never got back on track again. When Crossfit fell off so did my 3 times a week treadmill runs, squats and pushups. It just all died. So I’ve decided that it’s my new 30 day challenge. For the next 30 days I plan to go to Crossfit. Well, Crossfit isn’t offered every day so for the next 30 days I plan to go to Crossfit when it’s offered, that’s 4 days a week. Monday, Wednesday, Friday, and Saturday at 8pm. Sometime this month they will reopen their box and I can go every day. In the meantime I’m getting on the 103, riding it out to the McDonald’s and walking 100 meters to meet up with 15 other people, Spanish speakers all, to do burpees, squats, lift some weights and run in sand. I do not enjoy any of these activities but I have to do something other than lay around and sit around. I have no fear of getting fat since food is too expensive but I don’t want my butt to spread so Crossfit it is.

That means, this blog is about to get real boring cause that’s all there will be to write about. Maybe I’ll see something interesting on the bus ride. I really should get a camera. That photography challenge would be so much easier. Or maybe I should really think about doing that art challenge? I’m scared for myself.

3 thoughts on “Now what?

  1. How exciting!! I thought about doing a xfit challenge but it’s so expensive here! I think the cheapest place I’ve found is about 120/month. I know it’s not *that* much, but that’s an extra 120 I can be saving for a house/loan payment. Can’t wait to hear all about it.

    Where did you see an art/photography challenge?

    Like

    1. I just realized that I was lying to myself about getting to Crossfit at 8pm sooooo..I’m thinking of another challenge. And I understand about that $120, what changed my mind about Crossfit is knowing that I’d now be spending $10 a week on transportation in addition to the cost of the class. I’m putting it on hold til they are back to the place that I could walk to.

      I didn’t see any art/photography challenge. I was planning to just make it up myself and post it here. I already miss the daily reminders from SOLC.

      Like

  2. Love this–I, too, am guilty of the short-lived commitments. A new routine in teaching, daily slicing, exercising regularly. Interesting how “they” say it takes 28 times to build a habit, and I stop right at the time the habit is created.

    Like

Leave a Reply

